Wing Safety Award

(From Left) Lt. Col. Jim Gloss, 197th Air Refueling Squadron commander, presents Staff Sgt. Nick Savasta, 161st Maintenance Group crew chief, with the 161st Air Refueling Wing safety award for “outstanding action”, Phoenix, Nov. 2, 2014. Savasta, along with crew chiefs Tech. Sgt. Bethany Skaritka and Staff Sgt. Chris Hostetler, prevented an in-flight emergency by noticing a hydraulic leak just as the aircraft was about to take off. “The working relationship between Maintenance and Operations is integral to successful mission accomplishment, both during home station training and global operations,” said Maj. Tami Demik, 161st Air Refueling Wing safety officer. “Maintaining a positive and proactive safety culture, and employing accurate risk management techniques, allow the 161st Air Refueling Wing to deliver 100% mission effectiveness.” (U.S. Air National Guard Photo by Tech. Sgt. Courtney Enos/Released)

PHOTO BY: Tech. Sgt. Courtney EnosReleased
VIRIN: 141101-Z-XM694-016.JPG
Additional Details

No camera details available.


Read More

This photograph is considered public domain and has been cleared for release. If you would like to republish please give the photographer appropriate credit. Further, any commercial or non-commercial use of this photograph or any other DoD image must be made in compliance with guidance found at, which pertains to intellectual property restrictions (e.g., copyright and trademark, including the use of official emblems, insignia, names and slogans), warnings regarding use of images of identifiable personnel, appearance of endorsement, and related matters.